Art at The Alex

Last summer, as had been the case in summers before it, Warwickshire Open Studios prompted me to get out and about to meet artists in the county’s villages, following the satnav down winding lanes to find studios in leafy courtyards or to mooch under gazebos in gardens straight out of an EM Forster novel. I didn’t venture to Art at the Alex in 2022, missing out on an experience right on my doorstep. Not so this year.

Over the two afternoons that I visited, podcast microphone in hand, I didn’t manage to have a conversation with all the artists, but I did chat with Darcy Hill, Clare Pentlow, Brian Dickinson, Jessica Hartshorn, David Jones, Glynis Hayward-Bradley, Evelyn Baxter, Carol Wheeler and Hannah Kempe. I’m grateful to each and every one of them for taking the time to discuss their background, processes and inspiration.

Art at The Alex The Story Framer

With Art at The Alex hosting their second ever Warwickshire Open Studios, I spent a couple of afternoons in the company of creatives. Podcast music by Jack Knowles. Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

With thanks to Jack Knowles for composing the soundtrack to this and the companion episode. Well, everything apart from the arpeggiated stuff that I cobbled together.


Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started